top of page

GIG & RECORDING NEWS!


Well it's certainly been awhile since my last blog post, I must admit. I know, you've been breathlessly anticipating the next one, right? Okay so life goes on, we all get busy, sometimes just plain crazy, and often simply crazy busy! So let me first apologize for the lapse in posting, and thank you for the few minutes of valuable time you are spending catching up with me here. It's been quite a busy time for me, in fact...let's get to it!

 

I'm on a mission to be playing out live regularly this coming year, and so far things are looking up! The biggest news on that front is the resurrection of Ebacher & Hyde, easily the finest duo I have been involved with in my entire career as a musician. Anyone who has ever heard him will agree that John Hyde is a truly gifted player, and we go back quite a ways, having played together in number of configurations both large and small over the years. With the new Ebacher & Hyde, I again get the chance to have an intimate conversation with someone with whom I share a long history. Playing one to one is demanding and challenging, moreso than any other configuration, I believe, but with John it feels easy and comfortable, like putting on your favorite old sweater. With John on accordion and keyboards, me on keyboards, flute, and vocals, we're exploring the common ground we share in the music of Brasil, Cuba, Argentina, and beyond, all rendered in the spirit of Jazz. If the reception we got at a trial run last week over at the Plum Island Grille is any indication, you will love this stuff! We're still working on putting things together musically and promotionally, but meanwhile here's a peek at what we're up to, as captured in this video of our last rehearsal. Seriously looking forward to sharing this music with you live in the very near future!

 

There are more things happening on the live music front too. Recently had the pleasure of joining Ben Zanfagna and Mike Gruen of Red Tail Hawk for an acoustic evening at Glenn's Food & Libations in Newburyport. RTH is a bright spot on the radar for the North Shore music scene, and they have been making waves just about everywhere on that scene lately. Benny has a unique style and presentation for his work, which is brimming with intelligence, groove, and soulfulness. I joined him & Mike for a few sets at the end of last year, just after they returned from a minitour of Prague and Budapest. Since then, they have asked me to join them on percussion and flute for some upcoming regional appearances, including a return to Glenn's slated for Thursday, February 23rd. Glenn and his wife Charlene have been generously supporting live music for decades, by the way. “Flutation Device”, my first album as a leader, was recorded live at their old location in 1998. Very good chance you'll get to hear Ebacher & Hyde at their great new spot in the near future also...

 

There are a number of news items to report on the recording scene, as well. The biggest news there is my new EP, “Four Songs of Susan” slated for release on Friday, February 10th. This one is a Valentine for my wife, Susan, without whom yours truly would have little music in his life. It's a big deal for me, quite honestly, and I'm proud to share it with you. It's a public declaration of my love for my wife, but also a suite of lovesongs for all lovers. Incidentally, this is also my first ever release of all vocal material, despite the fact that I started my musical career as a vocalist! “Four Songs of Susan” will be available for high quality digital download and streaming at all major music sites, including CD Baby, Amazon, iTunes, Apple Music, and more. And while you're there, check out “Uptempo Brazilian Rhythm”, a new compilation of Brazilian Samba from around the world, released just a few weeks ago. There's a song called “Backyard Carneval” in that collection, by some guy named Roger Ebacher.

 

Finally, if you'd like to take a seat in the WayBack machine, here's a slideshow documenting the absolute beginning of my life as a professional musician. The year is 1972, the place is Montreal, and I would be the starry eyed young man you hear singing, among other selections, the very first song I ever wrote, “Alone at Last”. It's been a long journey, my friends, and it's not over yet. See you around the bend...


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page