top of page

"Local Vocal"...the story behind the songs


PAINT YOUR PICTURE This one is very dear to my heart. Written about 1980, Paint Your Picture was originally recorded in 1981, during the same recording session that produced another early one of mine called Why Do I? That song was first released on The First Grog Album in 1982, then covered in 1984 on the Rounder Records album From the Heart by the great New Orleans singer Johnny Adams. While Why Do I? got all the attention, Paint Your Picture was the real focus of that session, but has remained unreleased until this newly recorded 2019 version.

A LANGUAGE I REMEMBER Appearing for the first time on CD, this one is stylistically unique in my writing repertoire, and I spent a long time working on it. Very enjoyable tune to play, and it has found it's way into the setlist when I perform with Re:Groove, my original Latin/World Jazz ensemble. From the original 2017 digital-only release, Four Songs of Susan.

SOLID AIR One of three carefully chosen covers on Local Vocal, this take on the title cut from John Martyn's famous 1973 release was recorded in 2010. I'm a huge fan of the late John Martyn, whose blend of jazz, folk, and pop has mesmerized me now for decades. I've wanted to release this one for years, and I hope this version does this great song justice.

THE LONG GOODBYE (PARTS 1 & 2) As the original liner notes state, “...this song is about endings. I've never been very good with goodbyes, endings, or losses, and I am reminded almost daily it seems...that I am not alone. That is why I chose to address the subject head on...to bare rather than bury my feelings about it. The Long Goodbye is dedicated to us all...families bonded or broken, lovers and friends near and far, even perfect strangers." First released digitally as a single in 2018

WINTER COMES Another one from the vault, Winter Comes was written in the early 1980's. It's really a kind of tone poem, drenched in the feelings that come with the approach of Old Man Winter. I think I can relate to the lyrics even more now than when I wrote it as a younger man. Recorded in 2015, and first released digitally on With You in a Moment, this is the song's first appearance on CD

. SAUDADE SUMMER The title cut from my 2017 EP, this song tells the tale of a Summer gone seriously south. The bossa nova groove helps cushion the blow, and this one is featured in current shows with Re:Groove.

A CASE OF YOU Joni Mitchell. What can I say that has not already been said about this brilliant artist? I've been a fan for her entire career, and I'm still simply stunned by her work. Her iconic album Blue was filled with timeless music, and A Case of You was and is a prime example of the excellence of her craft. It was a challenge to find my own way in this song, but I'm pleased to share the results from this 2017 recording.

COFFEE & A KISS Released online as a single in the Summer of 2019, Coffee & a Kiss is a tongue-in-cheek Latin pop number that calls up the vibe of Latin music in America during the late 80's era. It's snappy, bright and has a hook that I hope will get stuck in your head...you can sing along with me at the next Re:Groove show!

WALK IN THE RAIN Dedicated to my Mum, Helen G. Ebacher, 1913 – 2001. The lyrics tell the story here. She really was “the oldest little girl I knew”...

WHAT THE WORLD IS COMING TO No matter what your opinions, affiliations, views, or likes may be, I say it's difficult to argue the point that the world today is a pretty crazy, mixed-up place. Far be it from me to suggest the solutions, but hope you don't mind me singing about the problems...I don't know What the World is Coming To but at least you can dance to this one!

AGAIN I first heard this gem of a jazz ballad many years ago on a record by vocalist Mark Murphy, who for me is the very epitome of what it means to be a real jazz singer. Back in the mid 80's, I was interviewed by jazz promoter Lennie Sogoloff, who for decades presented the world's most iconic jazz artists at his legendary North of Boston club “Lennie's on the Turnpike”. When the interview article went to print, Lennie compared my vocal style to that of Mr. Murphy...one of the greatest compliments I've ever received. I tried very hard to live up to that and make this song my own.

A MOMENT IN THE SUN Originally released in 2017 on the digital EP Saudade Summer, A Moment in the Sun is a reflection on the frailty of life and time. Come with me, and dance...


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page